You’re invited to Jan. 4 inauguration

Jan. 4 is the date of the public swearing in of Commissioners Michelle Williams, Tim Downing, Shannon Smith, and Denny Bowman (clockwise from top left). 

COVINGTON, Ky. - You voted for ’em, now come meet ’em. 

The public is invited to the inauguration ceremony/public swearing in on Jan. 4 for four members of the 2019-2020 Covington City Commission.
Retired Kentucky Supreme Court Justice Donald Wintersheimer will issue the oath of office to returning Commissioners Tim Downing and Michelle Williams; and newcomers Denny Bowman, a former mayor of the City; and Shannon Smith, a Covington attorney.
The four were the top vote-getters in the Commission election in November and will serve Covington residents for two years. As the highest vote-getter, Commissioner Williams is also Mayor Pro Tem.
The fifth voting member of the Commission, Mayor Joe Meyer, is in the middle of a four-year term and was not on the ballot.
“If you live or do business in Covington, you should attend and meet these Commissioners,” City Manager David Johnston said. “These are the officials who will be making the hundreds of decisions that will dictate what the City will look like and what the quality of your family’s life will be like - everything from setting tax rates for the year to deciding where to spend your tax investments, what small businesses should get incentives, and what streets and parks should be fixed up.”
The event runs from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. (with the swearing in occurring about 7 p.m.) in the main gallery of the Carnegie Arts Center, 1028 Scott Blvd. Parking is available behind the Carnegie and on the street.
There will be light appetizers and a cash bar.
# # #